Placeholder text, please change

Student Itzel Ramirez and CTE Coordinator Jessica Haecker Win MDCP Awards

CTE Group
From left: LVMHS Co-Principal Jason Strong, teacher Vanessa Jones, Supt. Peter Livingston, FFA advisor Troy Van Bavel, Student of the Year award winner Itzel Ramirez Tapia, CTE Coordinator Jessica Haecker, FFA advisor Danielle Hickman, and Assistant Superintendent Nate Lambdin.
Lucerne Valley High School senior Itzel Ramirez Tapia and the school’s CTE Coordinator Jessica Haecker received Student of the Year and Profound Impact Award honors at the April 26th Mojave Desert Career Pathways (MDCP) awards ceremony at Towns End Market in Apple Valley.
Itzel, who served as the 2022-23 president of the Lucerne Valley FFA Chapter, was recognized for her achievements in Agricultural Education. Mrs. Haecker oversees the Middle High School’s expanding Career Technical Education (formerly known as Regional Occupational Program) that includes a vast array of programs and classes geared toward preparing students for successful careers in a number of disciplines.
The awardees were among several others from MDCP schools who were recognized for their accomplishments. The student winners represented school CTE programs in Medical Pathway, Medical Assisting and EKG, Design Visual and Media Arts, Welding and Design Visual and Media Arts, and Dental.
Also receiving Profound Impact Awards were Shawntee Milton, Business Services, Victor Valley Union High School; Corinne Welsh, Recruitment and Placement Specialist, Hesperia Unified School District; Dr. Frank Jimenez, Principal, Barstow High School; and Belen Colon, CTE Specialist, Apple Valley High School.
The MDCP consists of seven school districts. They are Apple Valley USD, Barstow USD, Hesperia USD, Lucerne Valley USD, Silver Valley USD, Snowline JUSD, and Victor Valley UHSD.
To learn more about the MDCP, visit